Home » ciorbe si supe/ sour and sweet soups » Supa de pui / Chicken soup

Supa de pui / Chicken soup

Inca din august 1997 visez cu ochii deschisi la momentul in care voi putea gusta din nou supa de pui facuta de bunica mea iubita care m-a crescut. Stiu exact momentul pt ca atunci a fost si tragicul accident al Printesei Diana, si atunci bunica mea a facut o supa de pui pt mine pt ca eram bolnava. Gustul acela mi-a ramas adanc intiparit in minte si nu credeam ca voi putea sa il reproduc vreodata. Am incercat toate posibilitatile sa obtin macar o tenta din acel gust. In toti acesti ani amintirea exacta a gustului supei bunicii mele nu s-a stins si de curand am reusit sa il obtin. Si a fost foarte simplu. Iata inca o dovada a faptului ca lucrurile aproape perfecte se obtin din simplitate. Sa va spun ce am facut :

  • am luat o gaina crescuta la curte, intreaga
  • 25 gr gris
  • 4 oua
  • un ardei rosu
  • 2 cepe
  • 3 cartofi potriviti
  • 2 morcovi potriviti
  • cam 50 gr de taitei mai lati

Am pus la fiert gaina intreaga dupa ce am spalat-o bine si separat am taiat ceapa in stil Julien:

Image

Cand gaina a inceput sa se fiarba, am scos-o din oala si am lasat-o la racit si peste zeama in care a fiert am pus legumele taiate, mai intai morcovul, apoi dupa cateva minute ardeiul, apoi ceapa si cartofii taiati cuburi si le-am lasat la fiert. Cat timp ele fierbeau am batut ouale cu putina sare si am pus peste ele grisul si am amestecat pana am obtinut o pasta nu foarte tare.

cpui2

Cand legumele erau aproape gata fierte, am pus taiteii si dupa alte 2 minute am luat cu o lingurita din pasta de ou si gris si am pus in oala, facand cele mai pufoase galuste.

Image

La final am pus o lingura de amestec delicat si o legatura de patrunjel tocat. Nimic mai mult sau mai putin. A iesit  o supa perfecta, cu gust puternic de gaina, o supa care mi-a amintit de bunica mea draga. Daca sunteti fani usturoi, puteti adauga si putin usturoi pisat in farfurie, pt o savoare si mai profunda. Iar daca sunteti raciti, usturoiul va va ajuta si mai mult. Pofta mare!

Image

English version:

Since August 1997 I daydream to taste again the chicken soup made ​​by my beloved grandmother who raised me. I know exactly when it was as then it happened, the tragic accident of Princess Diana as my granny made the soup for me for I was sick. That taste remained alive on my mind and didn’t think I could ever replicate it. I tried all the possibilities to get even a hint of that flavor. In all these years the memory of my grandmother soup taste staid there and just recently I managed to get it right. And it was very simple. Here’s another proof that in simplicity is the key to perfection. Let me tell you what I did:

I got a whole chicken, raised at court
25 gr semolina
4 eggs
one red pepper
2 onions
3 medium potatoes
2 carrots suitable
about 50 grams of noodles

I put the whole chicken to boil in water after I washed it well and in the meantime I cut the onions Julien style. When the chicken has started to boil, I removed it from the pot and left it to cool and in that water I added the  chopped vegetables, carrots first, then after a few minutes the peppers, and onions and diced potatoes and I let them boil. Meanwhile I took the eggs and beaten them with some salt and added the semolina and mixed until I  got a paste not to harden. When the vegetables were almost ready and cooked, I put the noodles and after another two minutes I took a teaspoon of egg pasta and semolina and put into the pot, making the fluffiest dumplings ever.
Finally I put a tablespoon of vegetables and salt blend of chopped some parsley and added it in there after I took the pot from the stove. Nothing more or less. A perfect soup came with a strong taste of chicken which reminded me of my dear grandmother. If you are fans of garlic,  you can add a bit of garlic in your plates for it will deepen even more the flavor. And if your have a cold the garlic helps a lot.

Enjoy the perfect chicken soup!

30 thoughts on “Supa de pui / Chicken soup

  1. I love your chicken soup but unfortunately I can’t find a real chicken in Canada like we had in Romania. I bought “free range”, “organic”, but still is far away from what I eat back home.

    • I totally understand your feelings. Luckily my parents have real chicks at home and my mother in law as well so I cook traditionally. It may sound foolish, but the solution for those outside Romania would be to take eggs from here, have the chicks there and also have the corn from their backyard Romanian style…

      • Lol. Not even that. I leave in a condo.😦 Are you from Tecuci? My wife if from Nicoresti and her Mom still leaves there. Beautiful places.

    • Hi,
      I know my idea is an utopia but I had to say it, it was too funny.
      My husband is from Tecuci, we go there often🙂 I see there are lots of things in common with people who I read or read me.😛
      cheers, Oana

  2. Your Chicken Soup sounds amazing, and I can’t wait to make it this weekend. The weather has just turned cold, it’s supposed to rain all weekend, and I’ve been missing my grandmother. 🙂 Your post came at the perfect time, and I can’t wait for the comforting warmth of that amazing soup with dumplings.

  3. As Chef Doru says, you cannot replicate this outside of Romania. It will perhaps be good, but if you’ve eaten it in Romania with “o gaina crescuta la curte” you won’t be satisfied with anything you can get elsewhere. Same applies to pork, though we have at last managed to find something which comes close.

  4. Your beloved grandmother’s chicken noodle soup looks delicious and soul satisfying as well!
    I would like to share it with my readers on CookingUpaStormWithMissPolly.com

    What language was it written in first? I don’t recognize it.
    I will tag the language in the recipe once I know.

    Keep on Cooking!

    You might like my membership cooking site Cooking Up a Storm All Over The World at http://www.CookingUpaStorminCA.ning.com.
    It is a membership

      • I am meeting so many people here I am going to have to create a database on Exel so I can remember all of them.

        Is Thanksgiving only an American holiday?
        Are you in Romania?

        I dated a handsome guy from Romania when I was first divorced in 2001. Would sure love to meet a nice guy I would want to have a relationship with.
        I miss that.
        Was married to a rocket scientist and the good times were great but the bad ones were horrid. Would love to find someone who was kind, genuine and had a good heart.
        Pray I find one.

        Paulette Motzko

      • Hi,
        Well Thanksgiving is not celebrated in Romania but we have other beautiful holidays🙂
        Romanian guys are something… my husband for example never stops to amaze me, but that I think it’s a man thing😉
        If you ever have the chance to come here, you’ll definitely meet someone to be your companion, or maybe online😛
        If I find a single friend, I’ll give you his contact.
        regards, Oana

Leave a Reply

