Home » fel principal/ main course » Varza de Bruxelles cu sos alb / White sauce Brussels sprouts

Varza de Bruxelles cu sos alb / White sauce Brussels sprouts

Fac parte din acea categorie de oameni care spun cu usurinta mici adevaruri, sau care fac marturisiri. Sunt de parere ca sinceritatea este un act de curaj, mai ales la o anumita varsta cand vrem sa pastram aparentele doar ca sa dam bine in fata celorlalti. Dupa cum ati vazut deja, multe retete depe blogul meu nu sunt din copilarie, insa si acestea nou incercate constituie o amintire pt mine, si sper eu si pt voi, asa ca va invit sa mai descoperim o reteta.

Despre varza de Bruxelles am auzit la ora de biologie pe la 11 ani si stiam despre ea ca face parte din familia verzei si cam atat. De curand o prietena mai veche a prezentat o reteta cu astfel de varza si am zis ca trebuie sa incerc si eu.

Iata ce a iesit din :

  • 500 gr varza de Bruxelles congelata
  • 200 ml smantana pt gatit
  • 5 catei de usturoi
  • 100 gr jambon afumat
  • 100 gr Kaiser
  • Sare si piper si ulei extra virgin de masline

vb1

Am urmat cu atentie instructiunile Mihaelei si am pregatit varza punand-o la fiert in apa clocolita timp de cateva minute. Dupa aceea am lasat-o sa se scurga de apa pe un servetel din hartie si i-am taitat cotorul usor, dupa care am taiat-o pe jumatate. A urmat prajirea verzei in ulei extra virgin de masline alaturi de usturoiul taiat.

vb2

Eu le-am lasat aproape 2 minute pe o parte si apoi inca 2 minute pe cealalta intorcandu-le usor cu o lingura de lemn.

vb3

Separat am facut sosul meu alb, acelasi facut si pt paste. Am calit carnea in putin ulei, si apoi am adaugat smantana lasand-o sa scada dupa o fierbere de 3, 4 minute. La final am pus usturoi pisat si piper. Probabil nu este cea mai inspirata combinatie culinara insa dulceata cepei cu aroma de usturoi a mers de minune cu sosul foarte satios si putin condimentat.

vb4

Pofta mare!

English version:

I’m one of those people who easily tell small truths about themselves or confessing this and that. I believe that honesty is an act of courage, especially at a certain age when you want to keep up with others, save the appearances or you public image. As you have already noticed many of my recipes are not from my childhood, but still they all are a memories for me, and I hope for you as well, so I invite you discovered a new recipe with me. I heard about Brussels sprouts at the biology class when I was 11 years old and all I knew about it was that it’s part of the cabbage family and that’s all.  Recently an old friend presented on her blog a recipe of Brussels sprouts and so I said I have to try it myself.
Here’s what came out of:

  • 500 gr frozen Brussels sprouts
  • 200 ml cream for cooking
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • 100 g smoked ham
  • 100 gr Kaiser
  • Salt and pepper and extra virgin olive oil

I followed the instructions carefully as Mihaela said and I put the Brussels sprouts in boiling water for a few minutes. Then I left it to drain the water on a tissue paper and I easily removed the spine then I cut it in half. It was followed with the roasting in extra virgin olive oil with diced garlic. I’ve left them almost 2 minutes on one side and then another 2 minutes on the other turning them gently with a wooden spoon.

I then made my white sauce separately, as I did for my pasta recipe. I fried the meat in a tablespoon of oil, and then added the cream letting it to reduce after a boil of 3 to 4 minutes. Finally I added the garlic and pepper. Probably not the most inspiring culinary combination but the sweetness of the Brussels sprout with garlic flavor went well with the white sauce very nourishing and a little spicy.

Enjoy!

11 thoughts on “Varza de Bruxelles cu sos alb / White sauce Brussels sprouts

  1. Multumesc tare mult pentru ‘like’-ul pe postarea mea.
    That’s enough strain on my Romanian! Congratulations on your superb English; I say that as a teacher of English for several years in Romania.
    I read your tomato project; a great idea but we will never get tomatoes to taste as good as they do in Romania (la tara bineinteles! – not from the glasshouses of Galati), together with peppers, carrots and everything else.
    Two questions: do you live in the wonderful house which is your avatar?; where in Romania do you live?
    A tip: better than boiling Brussel sprouts – cut them in half and steam them, for about 15 minutes. I’ll be trying them with your sauce next time – not today as it’s Wednesday.
    I shall be visiting your blog a lot for inspiration when wanting to cook some Romanian food here in Yorkshire, which is often!

    • Cu placere Dimitrie!🙂
      I want to start with a “thank you” for the visit, the tips and the words… My parents live in the country side, in Prahova (it might sound familiar to you) and the vegetables they grow in the garden taste heavenly! If you come to visit back in Romania in summer time, let me know so I can prove that to you😛
      It will be an honor for me to know you cooked after my recipes.
      Cu drag, Oana

  2. Thank you Oana. I lived in the north when in Romania – Suceava and Iasi – but have visited your part many times of course. We (that is my wife Petronela – Romanian – and I) are hoping to tour Romania in our camper van ‘Lofty’ (see avatar) in summer 2015 so if we do I will certainly take up your invitation. Summer 2014 is scheduled for my parents-in-law to visit us – which you are welcome to do too anytime. We live in a beautiful part of England but I can’t pretend we can offer you vegetables that taste like yours! We might put you to cook😉 – I brought a ceaun back with me!

    • You don’t need to send me twice that invitation😛
      Next year I’ll have my wedding, which leave 2015 open for any plans. Please contact me when you’ll be here, I would love to meet you and your wife, and I could also take you to places where me and my husband visited.😉
      ps: I have a ceaun as well, they are great :))
      regards, Oana

  3. Reteta dvs. nu am incercat-o, insa eu fac varza de Bruxelles la cuptor. In loc s-o trag in tigaie cu usturoi, o bag la cuptor c-un sos alb (asemanator cu al dvs.); cateodata mai rad putin parmezan pe deasupra. E delicios!
    Zilele astea o sa va incerc reteta si o sa revin cu o impresie. 🙂
    Cu drag,
    Alina

Leave a Reply

