Home » starter » Omleta mea magica / My magic omelet

Omleta mea magica / My magic omelet

La ora cand scriu aceste randuri e dimineata, cam aceeasi ora la care in urma cu 8 luni pregateam acest mic dejun perfect. Este poate cel mai cunoscut si simplu fel de mancare menit sa potoleasca foamea cand nu ai nimic altceva la indemana sau menit sa te ajute pt o zi plina de evenimente. Este vorba despre simpla si arhicunoscuta omleta.

Este insa o omleta speciala, cel putin pt mine. Este omleta bunicii mele, facuta din oua de la gainile din curte si imbogatita cu ceapa verde si marar din propria gradina. Ca sa fie micul dejun desavarsit, am pregatit-o in aceeasi tigaie in care o facea si ea.

Avem nevoie de 2 oua de curte, cateva fire de ceapa verde si cateva fire de marar.

omleta1

Taiem verdeata si o punem la calit. In acest timp batem bine bine ouale si cand verdeata s-a inmuiat putin in tigaia sfarainda adaugam si ouale.

omleta2

Nu amestecati cu nimic continutul, fiti rabdatori pt ca omleta sa fie pufoasa. O intoarcem usor cu o furculita si in 5 minute avem cea mai delicioasa omleta. O scoatem din tigaie si o asezonam cu putina sare si piper si o lasam la odihna intr-o farfurie de lut. Eu n-am avut prea multa rabdare si am facut ultima poza asa pe fuga.

omleta3

Parfumul verdeturilor proaspete si ouale proaspete e tot ce iti trebuie ca sa incepi ziua intr-un tonus de zile mari.

Reteta e facuta in primavara si micul dejun l-am luat afara in curte, la soare, si tot ce pot sa va spun e ca a avut si un dram de magie in ea.

Pofta mare!

English version:

When I write these lines it’s morning, about the same time that 8 months ago I was preparing the perfect breakfast. It is perhaps the best known and simple dish, designed to satisfy the hunger when you have nothing else at hand or intended to help you start in force a day full of events. It’s the simple and extremely delicious omelet.
But this is a special omelet, at least for me. My grandmother made me the scrambled eggs from the eggs she took from the chickens in the back yard and enriched it with green onions and some dill from our garden. To be the perfect breakfast I prepared it in the same pan in which she was and I can tell you that it tasted the same so I felt the loving presence of my granny at the table.
We need 2 eggs, a few green onions and a few strands of dill.
Cut the greens and put them into the hot pan to cook. Meanwhile beat the eggs well and when the greens when softened slightly in the hot pan add the eggs. Do not mix with the content, be patient for that to be a fluffy omelet. Turn it on the other side easily with a fork and within 5 minutes we have the most delicious omelet. When out of the pan, season it with a pinch of salt and pepper and leave it to rest in a clay dish. I never had much patience so the omelet lasted just a few seconds just enough to take a blurry picture on the run. The scent of fresh herbs and fresh eggs is everything you need to start your day in a great tone.
The recipe is best made in the spring and I took this breakfast outside, in the yard, in the sun, and all I can say is that it had a touch of magic in it.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Omleta mea magica / My magic omelet

  1. I’d not have thought of putting what in the UK we call ‘Spring onions’ – I guess in former times they were only available in the Spring (‘scallions’ in the USA I think) but I often joke with my wife that Romanians put dill in everything – it’s what gives so many Romanian dishes their unique flavour. I must try it as it sounds very tasty (I don’t have chickens running around a yard unfortunately but it’s only a beautiful 15 minute walk to someone who does.

    • Hei Dimitrie,
      I invite you and your wife to my parents house next year, should you come to Romania, and we’ll have this breakfast and also many other dishes with a flavor only possible here in my dear country.
      Best regards, Oana

      • Thank you Oana. We’ll certainly make it if my health and that of Lofty (the camper) is OK. Remind me of where you are – we certainly have Sibiu then Trans-Fagarasanul to Curtea de Arges in mind as well as visiting friends in the north (Bucovina). D

      • Thanks Oana; now I remember; not too far from Curtea de Arges (170km – half a day in camper Lofty) so we should be able to make it. From there back to Iasi via Brasov and Piatra Neamt. Here’s hoping😉 .

Leave a Reply

